Goddess Durga , Shumbha and Nishumbha

Goddess Durga has killed numerous demons including Mahishasura, Shumbha, Nishumbha, Raktabija and others. These all demons were mighty because of boons from Brahma and only supreme deity like Goddess Durga could only kill them. Boon of Shumbha and Nishmubha According to Shrimad Devi Bhagwat Puran, Shumbha and Nishumbha were the two Asura (demons) brothers. They … Read more

Durga Saptashati mantras

Devi Mantras or shloka are known as Siddhi Mantra (the one with perfection). Each and every mantra is full of energy and power of Devi. Mantras of Devi, when chanted with genuine devotion, give positive results. These mantras ward off all troubles & blesses with success. All mantras are disclosed by the Almighty, through the Intelligence, experience of the divinely illuminated sages.

Maa Kalratri

Maa Kalratri

The seventh manifestation of Mother Durga, worshipped on the seventh day of Navratri, is Goddess Kalratri. Devi Kalratri is the seventh aspect of Durga and Worshiped among Navdurga. She is believed to be the most violent Devi among Navdurga. She has dark krishna (black) complexion and her appearance is extremely fearful. Her large red eyes, … Read more

Maa Skandmata

Maa Skandmata

The fifth manifestation of the goddess Durga was named Skandamata. As she is mother of Lord Skand (Kartikeya), she is called as Skandmata. The Goddess in this form has a fair or golden complexion. She sits on a lion and has four hands. She carries lotus in two of Her hands and has Lord Skanda … Read more

मां स्कंदमाता

नवरात्र के पांचवे दिन मां स्कंदमाता की पूजा होती है। मां का सुंदर रूप कुछ इस प्रकार है- देवी स्कंदमाता कमल के पुष्प पर विराजित अभय मुद्रा में होती हैं। मां का रूप बहुत निराला है, उनके रूप में एक अजब प्रकार का तेज होता है। पौराणिक तथ्यों के अनुसार स्कंदमाता ही हिमालय की पुत्री पार्वती … Read more

Navratri legends

Durga Puja or Navratri is an integral part of the Hindu culture in India. Celebrated in between September to November throughout the country, this Puja is considered to be one of the most complex and difficult puja out of all the Hindu ceremonies. It is a nine days long affair in which the Goddess of … Read more

माँ चंद्रघंटा

माँ दुर्गा की 9 शक्तियों की तीसरी स्वरूपा भगवती चंद्रघंटा की पूजा नवरात्र के तीसरे दिन की जाती है. माता के माथे पर घंटे आकार का अर्धचन्द्र है, जिस कारण इन्हें चन्द्रघंटा कहा जाता है. इनका रूप परम शांतिदायक और कल्याणकारी है. माता का शरीर स्वर्ण के समान उज्जवल है. इनका वाहन सिंह है और इनके … Read more

Exploits of Lord Krishna

Shri Krishna is most famous and perhaps the most written about among the incarnations of Lord Vishnu. His stories are magical, inspiring and humane. He alone accounted for Pandava’s victory in Mahabharata war. Please read on for some interesting and unknown facts about him.

Lord Kartikeya stories

Lord Kartikeya, the son of Lord Shiva and Goddess Parvati, is known by different names – Lord Swaminatha, Lord Murugan, Skand and more. His brother is Lord Ganesha. There is an interesting story of a competition between two brothers, Lord Ganesha and Lord Kartikeya and how Lord Kartikeya subsequently chose to live in Tamil region. … Read more

Mahishasura and Goddess Durga

The story of Goddess Durga and Mahishasura The interesting story of Goddes Durga and Mahishasura is produced here for you. This is a facinating story of battle between Devas and Asuras and how the trinity of gods was helpless before the demon Mahishasura. The demon was granted a boon by Brahma, which made by undefeatable, … Read more



Brief description of Nine forms of Maa Durga. These forms are worshipped during Nine days of Navratri.

108 names of Goddess Durga

Nine forms of Durga - Navratri

Here are 108 names of Goddess durga with its meaning Deity Durga is the supreme force who came to fight Mahisasura. Mahisasura had conquered the devas and even Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva could not defeat him. Unable to tolerate his tyranny the gods plead with Vishnu to annihilate the demon. The Trinity of Brahma, Vishnu … Read more

सिद्धिदात्री माता कथा

मार्कण्डेय पुराण के अनुसार अणिमा, महिमा, गरिमा, लघिमा, प्राप्ति, प्राकाम्य, ईशित्व और वशित्व- ये आठ सिद्धियां होती हैं। ब्रह्मवैवर्तपुराण के श्रीकृष्ण जन्म खंड में यह संख्या अठारह बताई गई है। इनके नाम इस प्रकार हैं – 1. अणिमा 2. लघिमा 3. प्राप्ति 4. प्राकाम्य 5. महिमा 6. ईशित्व,वाशित्व 7. सर्वकामावसायिता 8. सर्वज्ञत्व 9. दूरश्रवण 10. … Read more

Killing of demons by various forms of Mahagauri

The story of Mahagauri’s incarnation is lile this. The mighty demons Shumbha and Nishumbha had a boon that they could only be killed by a virgin, unmarried form of Devi Parvati. Lord Brahma advises Lord Shiva, who teases Parvati repeatedly for her skin colour. On repeated teasing, Devi Parvati performed strict penance to Brahma so … Read more

Importance of Pitru Paksha and Amavasya

Pitru or Pitri Paksha is an important event for Hindus. In the Lunar month of Ashwin (Krishna Paksha), Pitru Paksha or Pitri Paksha is observed. This is observed in a fortnight where followers of Hindu religion offer food to their ancestors. This includes several pujas, rituals, and charity activities. It is also believed that paying … Read more

Ganga Dusshera

The river Ganges was in heavens and it came to earth because of penance of Bhagirath. This is the reason, Ganga is also called as Bhagirathi. Ganga Dusshera celebrates this event of Maa Ganga coming to Earth from Heavens. Ganga Dussehra takes place on Dashami (10th day) of the waxing moon (Shukla Paksha) of the Hindu calendar month Jyeshtha. The festival celebration … Read more

Story of Monday and Pradosh Katha

According to Hindu mythology each day of the week represents a planet and are named after it. monday moon/ som  somvar white tuesday Mars / mangal mangalwar red wednesday Mercury / budh budhwar green thursday jupiter/ brihaspati brihaspatiwar yellow friday Venus / shukra shukrawar white saturday Saturn / shani shaniwar black sunday Sun / ravi … Read more

Draupadi – A role model

Draupadi's saviour - Shri Krishna

A lot has been said about the character of Devi Draupadi and lot of these suggest that she was lesser than a dignified soul. For those, this must be said that she was one of the panchkanyas and remembering here every morning washes away sins of a person. This should be noted that even Devi … Read more

माँ बगलामुखी

माँ बगलामुखी स्तंभन शक्ति की अधिष्ठात्री हैं अर्थात यह अपने भक्तों के भय को दूर करके शत्रुओं और उनके बुरी शक्तियों का नाश करती हैं