Gayatri Mantra – Mother of all mantras

ॐ भूर्भुव: स्व: तत्सवितुर्वरेन्यं । भर्गो देवस्य धीमहि, धीयो यो न: प्रचोदयात् ।

Aum Bhur Bhuvah Svah Tat-Savitur-Varenyam Bhargo Devasya Dheemahi Dhiyo Yo Nah Prachodayat

Gayatri mantra is the oldest and powerful of all the mantras. It is also known as Guru mantra, Savitri mantra, Maha mantra because from this all is born. Gayatri mantra is the basic of all the vedas and the universal prayer enshrined in Vedas hence also known as Veda sara or Veda mata.

It is believed that the Gayatri mantra was revealed to Brahmarshi Vishwamitra.The Gayatri Mantra is addressed to the energy of the Sun (Surya).

Chanting of Gayatri mantra leads to wisdom and illuminates deeds. Gayatri mantra should be chanted at dawn,noon and dusk. But we do not have to be bound by these three periods.

Gayatri Mantra
Gayatri Mantra

Gayatri mantra comprises of 3 parts

(1) Praise to Savitha – The Divine is first praised.

(2) Meditation or dhyaan  on Savitha – The Divine is then meditated upon.

(3) Prayer or prarthana to Savitha.

The first nine words represent the attributes of the Divine




“DHEEMAHI” pertains to Meditation.


is the Prayer to God to confer on us all powers and talents.

Meaning of Gayatri Mantra

The First line Bhur Bhuvah Suvah means or depict unity of body, mind and soul.

The Second line Bhargo Devasya Deemahi throw away the darkness.

Last line Dhiyo yo naha Prachodayat means let the effulgence of Divine dispel the darkness of ignorance.

May the Sun Illumine our intellect in the same way he shed his effulgence.

Word by word meaning of Gayatri mantra

Aum means Parabrahman

Bhur  is Physical world

Bhuvah is Mental world

Suvah is  Spiritual world

Tat means That

Savitur is Sun who is Creator and Preserver

Varenyam is adorable

Bhargo means illumination

Devasya is Divine Grace

Dheemahi We meditate upon

Dhiyo means understanding intellect

Yo means Who

Nah  means Our

Prachodayat means enlighten, guide or inspire.


Aspect of Gayatri Mantra

Gayatri has three names: Gayatri, Savitri and Saraswati. Gayatri is master of Senses, Savitri is master of Prana, Saraswati is presiding deity of Speech

These three represents purity in thought, word and deed.

If one chants Gayatri mantra various kinds of power will emerge in one. It should be chanted at Dawn, Noon and Dusk. But we do not  have to be bound by these three periods. It can be chanted any time and any where. The person chanting Gayatri Mantra should ensure that his heart is pure at all time. After Chanting Gayatri mantra we repeat shati Three times as it gives shanti or peace to body, mind and soul.

Five faces of Gayatri

Gayatri is said to have five faces and hence called Panchmukhi.

Panchmukhi Gayatri Mata
Panchmukhi Gayatri Mata

Om Pranava is the 1st face (Pranava principle represents 8 different forms of wealth)

Bhur Bhuva Svah is the 2nd face.

Tat Savitur Varenyam is 3rd face.

Bhargo Devasya Dheemahi is 4th face.

Dhiyo yo naha prachodayat is 5th face.

All these 5 aspect of Gayatri Mantra is within us. Gayatri Mantra teaches us to achieve harmony in thought word and deed.

Gayatri is reliever of all disease- Sarva roga nivarini

Gayatri is fulfiller of all desire- Sarva vancha phalashi Gayatri.

Gayatri ward off all misery – Sarva dukha parivahini

Gayatri is bestower of all that is beneficial.

It illuminate the mind and intelligence and promote knowledge and wisdom. Gayatri Mantra improves our thinking and judgement and give better control over our anxiety and emotions, cultivate determination and self esteem, inner peace, and prosperity. Meditating on Gayatri mantra calms the disturbed mind.

Leave your thought