Aadi Lakshmi – Ashta Lakshmi

In Hindu religion and mythology, Goddess Lakshmi has great importance. She has eight forms and called Ashta Lakshmi. Lakshmi,the hindu goddess of beauty, wealth and fertility has eight iconic manifestations. Know about Aadi Lakshmi here.

Aadi Lakshmi

Primeval Lakshmi or Maha Lakshmi or Great Lakshmi is ancient form of Goddess and incarnation of Lakshmi as daughter of sage Bhrigu. She is often depicted as wife of Lord Vishnu. In this form mother is four-armed, carries a lotus and a white flag, other two hands depicting the Abhaya mudra and varada mudra. Aadi means the first one. In this form the Mother Goddess blesses an individual with Power and Respect and also blesses with recognition.

Aadi Lakshmi
Aadi Lakshmi

Mother resides with Lord Narayana in the Vaikuntha, the abode of Lord Narayana. She is known as Ramaa, her name here means – she who brings happiness to mankind. She is also known as Indira (who holds lotus or purity in the hands or heart.) Divine Mother’s this form is normally seen serving Sri Narayana. Lord Narayana is omnipresent. Aadi Lakshmi or Ramaa serving Sri Narayana is symbolic of her serving the whole creation.

Though Sri Narayana is attended to, by innumerable devotees, still she personally loves to serve the Lord. Actually mother and Narayana are not two different entities but one only. In many depictions, we see her form sitting in the lap of Sri Narayana.

Ashta Lakshmi

There are eight forms of goddess, which symbolizes various aspects of human behaviour and fortune. Remembering them removes all obstacles from ones path and guides a human being towards well being. These forms are:

1. Aadi – (The Primeval Goddess) or Maha Lakshmi (The Great Goddess)
2. Dhana or Aishwarya (The Goddess of Prosperity and Wealth)
3. Dhaanya (Goddess of Food grains)
4. Gaja (The Elephant Goddess)
5. Santana (The Goddess of Progeny)
6. Veera/ Dhairya (The Goddess of Valor and Courage)
7. Vidya(The Goddess of Knowledge)
8. Vijaya/ Jaya  (The Goddess of Victory)

Leave a Comment


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave your thought