21 incarnations of Lord Vishnu – Part 3

This is the final article of 21 incarnations of Lord Vishnu. Here, we see lot of incarnations from Dashavatara are mentioned here as well. Notable addition is Vyasa avatara, who is also known as Krishna Dwaipayana.

15. The dwarf Incarnation – Vaman Avtar

Vishnu incarnated as a dwarf brahman to restore the authority of Indra over the heaven, as it has been taken by MahaBali asura king. King Mahabali was a generous man He believed that he can help any one and can donate whatever they ask. The dwarf came to Bali and desired that it might be granted as much of land as could be encompassed in three of its steps. Mahabali consented against the warning of his Guru. Vamana then revealed his identity and enlarged to gigantic proportions to stride over the three worlds. He stepped from heaven to earth with the first step, from earth to the netherworld with the second. King Mahabali, unable to fulfil his promise, offered his head for the third. Vamana then placed his foot and gave the king immortality for his humility.

16. The Ram with axe incarnation – Parashuram Incarnation

When kshatriya kings became ruthless and started exploiting their subjects, Lord Vishnu took  sixteenth  incarnation as Parshuram. Parashurama destroyed all the kshatriyas in the world twenty-one times, so that good might once again prevail. He received an axe after undertaking terrible penance to please Lord Shiva, who in turn taught him the martial arts.

17. Vyasa Avtar

Lord Vishnu incarnated himself as a sage  Krishna Dvaipayana. He was the son of Parashara and Satyavati He recompiled the sacred texts of the Vedas so that they might become more easily understandable to men.  It was thus that there came to be four Vedas. He came to be known as Vedavyasa because he had divided the Vedas. He also wrote eighteen Mahapurans and Mahabharat.

Ved Vyasa and Lord Ganesha
Ved Vyasa and Lord Ganesha

18. The Ram Incarnation

Ram is considered as 18 incarnation of Lord Vishnu. Ram is considered as one of the most important incarnations. Rama is referred to within Hinduism as Maryada Purushottama  which literally means Perfect Man or Lord of Self-Control or Lord of Virtue. Rama’s life and journey is one of adherence to dharma despite harsh tests and obstacles and many pains of life and time. He is pictured as the ideal man and the perfect human.

Rama and Ravana - The Ramayana
Rama and Ravana – The Ramayana

19. Krishna and Balram Incarnation

Lord Vishnu incarnated as  yadavas named Balram and Krishna. Balram killed Pralambasura  and many more demons. Lord Krishna on other hand fought against the exploitation right from his childhood and killed many demons like Kalayavan, Kansa, Jarasandh etc. He gave the divine knowledge of Gita to Arjun during the battle of Kurukshetra.

20. The Buddha Incarnation

Buddha was twentieth incarnation of Lord Vishnu, He was the originator of Buddhism. In the Kaliyuga the demons were completely subjugated by the deities. Shukracharya the teacher of the demons instigated the demons to perform Yagya so that they could regain power and authority. Fearing this the deities prayed to Lord Vishnu for help. Lord Vishnu took incarnation as Buddha and dissuaded the demons from performing Yagya as it involves violence the demons stopped performing Yagyas.

21. The Kalki Incarnation

This Incarnation is still to take place. At the end of Kalyug, Kalki avtar of Lord Vishnu shall take place in the house of brahmin Vishnuyasha. He would re-establish the superiority of Virtuosity and religiousness.

Leave a Comment


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave your thought