Vijaya lakshmi – A form of Ashta Lakshmi

In Hindu religion and mythology, Goddess Lakshmi has great importance. She has eight forms and called Ashta Lakshmi. Lakshmi,the hindu goddess of beauty, wealth and fertility has eight iconic manifestations. Know about Vijaya Lakshmi here which symbolizes victory.

Vijaya lakshmi

Vijaya means victory. This form of goddess is  provider of victory, not only in battles but also in conquering hurdles in our daily life  to beget success. She is also known as ‘Jaya’ Lakshmi, she is shown as having eight arms sitting on a lotus wearing a red sari, and carrying a a discus, a conch, a sword, a shield, a noose, and a lotus, other two hands being in abhaya and varada mudra.

Vijaya Lakshmi - Who makes us victorious
Vijaya Lakshmi – Who makes us victorious

Vijaya Lakshmi Prayer Song

Jaya, Kamalaasani, Sadhguthi Dhaayini

Jnaanavikaasini, Gaanamaye, Anudhina

Marchitha Kunkuma Dhoosara Bhooshitha

Vaasitha, Vadhyanuthe,

Kanakadhaaraasthuthi Vaibhava Vandhitha

Shankara Dheshika Maanyapadhe,

Jaya Jaya He, Madhusoodhana Kaamini

Vijayalakshmi, Paalayamaam ||

Ashta Lakshmi

There are eight forms of goddess, which symbolizes various aspects of human behaviour and fortune. Remembering them removes all obstacles from ones path and guides a human being towards well being. These forms are:

1. Aadi – (The Primeval Goddess) or Maha Lakshmi (The Great Goddess)
2. Dhana or Aishwarya (The Goddess of Prosperity and Wealth)
3. Dhaanya (Goddess of Food grains)
4. Gaja (The Elephant Goddess)
5. Santana (The Goddess of Progeny)
6. Veera/ Dhairya (The Goddess of Valor and Courage)
7. Vidya(The Goddess of Knowledge)
8. Vijaya/ Jaya  (The Goddess of Victory)

Leave your thought