Sir Bobby Robson – A Legend

A life of a fighter, and that too, a successful one, this is what which can be said about the great English footballer, Sir Bobby Robson. Sadly, he is no more, but fittingly enough, he went down fighting to an old foe, which he successfully fought for over 18 years, cancer.
He was born in country Durham on 18 February 1933. Robson will be best remembered on the international stage for leading England to the 1990 World Cup semi-final. In 2002 he was knighted in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List. In December 2007, he received the lifetime achievement award at the BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year show.
As a player, Robson, who played as a wing half, was a key member of the Fulham and West Brom team during the 1950s and 1960s and also won 20 caps for England. But it was in management that he established himself as one of the greats of the game.
At club level, he cut his managerial teeth at Fulham before establishing his credentials at Ipswich where he won the FA Cup and UEFA Cup in a 13-year stay. Spells at PSV Eindhoven, Sporting Lisbon, Porto and Barcelona followed before he managed Newcastle United.
After leaving Newcastle, he was a consultant for the Republic of Ireland side while he battled cancer, and later took on an ambassadorial role for the Football Association of Ireland.
Robson, who was first diagnosed with cancer 18 years ago in 1991, fought a brave battle against the disease. He beat bowel cancer in 1992, a malignant melanoma in 1995 and a tumour in his right lung and a brain tumour, both in 2006. In 2007 he was diagnosed cancer for fifth time and his chemotherapy started.
He made his final public appearance at a charity match at St James’ Park on Sunday
On 31st July, 2009 he has lost his courageous battle with cancer. He died very peacefully this morning (Friday) at his home in County Durham.
As a player:
1950-1956 Fulham
1956-1962 West Brom
1962-1967 Fulham
1958-1962 England (20 caps)
1967-1968 Vancouver Royals (player-manager)
As a manager:
1965-1966 Oxford University
1968 Fulham
1969-1982 Ipswich
1982-1990 England
1990-1992 PSV Eindhoven
1992-1993 Sporting Lisbon
1994-1996 FC Porto
1996-1998 Barcelona
1998-1999 PSV Eindhoven
1999-2004 Newcastle
Trophies won:
1973 Texaco Cup (Ipswich)
1978 FA Cup (Ipswich)
1981 Uefa Cup (Ipswich)
1991 & 1992 Dutch league (PSV)
1994 Portuguese Cup (Porto)
1995 & 1996 Portuguese league (Porto)
1997 European Cup Winners’ Cup (Barcelona)
1997 Spanish Cup (Barcelona)

Leave a Reply